Sign in to follow this  
MrMilton

Violin vs Cello

G'day all

I've been playing the violin for four years now, and I have suffered with tinnitus for about seven years. I have to use an orchestral mute on my fiddle in order to play at all, otherwise my ears scream at me causing physical pain. I am (finally)

considering giving up the violin and taking up cello instead - cello would have been my first choice if I had been able to afford it four years ago. So my question is, will the cello be easier on my ears than the violin? It does seem to be primarily the higher notes which cause the worst reaction, which is why I hope the cello will ease my problem. Also, will the last four years of violin playing make learning the cello any easier for me, or can I consider those years completely wasted?

Hey! I also have Tinnitus, and I play the cello! How fun is that?! smile.gif

The cello has caused absolutely no problems as far as Tinnitus goes. I'm sure the lower voice helps, not to mention that when you play cello you are not bowing the instrument right at your ear! Go for it. The cello is the most beautiful instrument ever invented. smile.gif

I don't know any advantages or disadvantages of switching. The cello is totally different from the violin, so your left hand might have a little trouble.

I'm really not much help at all. Surely someone else will reply that is. smile.gif

Aaron

quote:

Originally posted by Aaron:

I don't know any advantages or disadvantages of switching. The cello is totally different from the violin, so your left hand might have a little trouble.

though i'm not a cellist, i've played around with them a bit (a lot). i've found that the hrdest part is bowing. the left hand was pretty easy, and a lot less painful for the tendonitis i have in my left elbow (and who knows what the **** else now).

give it a try, cello is fun and if i had the money, i'd probably start playing.