Maestronet Forums

Right thumb tip hurts!

chueh

I've never felt comfortable with my right thumb against the frog, yet I was ok with it.

Since I'm a beginner cello player, I only practice 10-15 minutes each session, one or twice a day about 5-6 days a week.  These past few days I was out of town, so I did not practice.  Today, after not even 5 minutes of practice, my thumb tip hurts quite a bit and became numb.  Is it because I had not practiced continuously or a result of accumulative aggravation to my thumb???

Thanks

First of all - do not take cello instructions from a violinist!!!!

I suggest you get a copy of the book "NEW DIRECTIONS IN CELLO PLAYING" by Victor Sazer - especially if you don't have a cello teacher (even if you do).

There is no reason for your thumb to touch the frog.

EDIT: because yesterday my computer was misbehaving and some keys were jamming - so I could only write a little.

I learned to stop trying to stick my thumb into my bows many years ago: When I inherited my father's F. N. Voirin violin bow 70 years ago I noticed the "thumb notch" showed some wear so I continued to place my thumb there for some years until I noticed some metal poking through - so I patched over that and stopped doing that with my thumb. That damage to a bow like that decreases its value by many 1,000s of dollars. Bows have THUMB LEATHER for a reason.

By the way I have violin, cello and viola bows because I play all 3 instruments and they are all held differently, although violin and viola are similar - but cello is different as my cello teacher informed me by smacking my right hand with his cello bow at my first lesson almost 76 years ago and cured me of holding my cello bow like a violin bow at my very first cello lesson. I never forgot.

3 hours ago, Andrew Victor said:

There is no reason for your thumb to touch the frog.  :o

Are we talking about the same part??  The black ] shape???  My thumb always lands at the  ] shape more so at the top of the ].