Maestronet Forums

Help id this violin?

dred pirate

This is my first post here so if it should be moved, please let me know. I will preface this with saying I have VERY little knowledge in this area, but have become fascinated by what I have learned.  

I have a violin that was my mother in law who passed away 30 years ago. She was born in 1939 and probably got this as a teenager when living in the NYC area. We took it to a local dealer / refurbished who quoted $3k to refurbish and said it might be worth $8k when done. (But didn’t make an offer- so I take that with a grain of salt). He also said he couldn’t determine the origin, but “something is interesting about it”

I put it on Facebook marketplace and was flooded with interest (I listed it really cheap) many people said it was likely a German replica from the 1930’s to 50’s. Another person saw the label on the case and suggested a E John Albert or family   The mark on the inside (not a tag but a sort of brand) states “Dominico Luigi Venezia 1861”. Which I understand is very likely to be fake/misleading. 

I also have read the Albert’s did import Colin’s and finish them in Philly. So maybe?  

anyway. One guy got really pushy with me trying to rush me into a sale, and when I just told him I sold elsewhere accused me of “milking the deal” and “you just sold a $20,000 violin for a penny”. Now he seemed slightly unstable and ironically another person 3 states away earned me about him before he even messaged me. 

I am under no illusion that I am sitting on some gold mine, but due to the sentimental value to my wife, we want to make sure it goes to someone that will appreciate it and play it, but also don’t want to be the guy who is on the wrong side of some thrift shop find. 

any thought or ideas to what I actually have here since anyone who would know is king gone from this earth.  

IMG_6244.jpeg

IMG_6243.jpeg

IMG_6235.jpeg

IMG_6236.jpeg

IMG_6239.jpeg

IMG_6240.jpeg

IMG_6241.jpeg

IMG_6242.jpeg