Maestronet Forums

Cello problem: setup or technique?

I'm a beginner/intermediate and have recently upgraded from my beginner cello. The new one sounds much better, but when new had a slight tendency for the bow to skate across the string instead of pulling it, which I (rightly or wrongly) just assumed was a feature of a slightly more advanced cello needing better technique to get the best out of it. The problem is this tendency has gradually got ever so slightly worse and more frequent. I know the new cello had been with the shop for a year, and probably been trialled a few times, so wondered if it was the strings. So I changed to a new set of strings, the exact same brand (going by colour, at least). The new strings have made an enormous difference to the brightness of the sound and the resonance - my wolf note has got much stronger, which I guess is a sign of this greater resonance. That tendency for the bow to skate across the strings though has got markedly worse. It mainly affects the G string, and when it does play notes properly they sound lovely. The wolf note is around an F on the G string, but that metallic throbbing seems to extend beyond this pitch to most of the notes, and even the open string, though bowing technique (weight, speed & position) does make a difference. Switching back to my beginner cello with the same bow and same rosin amount and no problem at all. Is this a setup problem? Do I need a wolf note eliminator? My teacher doesn't teach in the summer holidays and then I'm away, so it'll be 6 weeks before I can ask her. Many thanks.

Edited by Roblington

Hmm.  My first thought would be stings, rosin and bow pressure.  But if you've addressed all those all I can think of is that the string is vibrating 'too much' and causing your bow to slide.

How much pressure do you need to apply for it NOT to skate?

As to wolf notes.  I'd try an eliminator first since it's an 'easy fix' and see what happens.