Maestronet Forums

(Preface: I have done a search for this topic but didn’t find quite what I was looking for)

I’m studying the Derber book and I’m on the chapter regarding the center joint. He advocates for a rubbed spring joint for the center joint (no clamping) that is created by using a wooden jointer plane clamped upside down on the work surface upon which the billet (is that the right word?) is dragged across. 

The Johnson/Courtnall book offers a different method where the wood is clamped and the edge planed by dragging the plane across the wood. This appears to be the most common method of planing boards used by furniture or cabinet makers I’ve seen in YouTube videos. Most of the ones I’ve seen on those videos use a jack plane instead of a jointer plane. 

My question is, how are you guys planing your joints? Are there other methods than the two I’ve mentioned?

I’d rather not make a wooden jointer plane from scratch if I can avoid it. Am I setting myself up for failure if I follow the Johnson/Courtnall method using a jack plane instead?

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

1 hour ago, David Rosales said:

My question is, how are you guys planing your joints? Are there other methods than the two I’ve mentioned?

There are plenty of other methods.  For my very first attempt, before I got tools, I used sandpaper glued to a long level.  I know someone who still does it that way.  

I bought a long jointer plane at a swap meet... but it was so warped and twisted that it was totally useless.  Then I got a good (Lie-Nielsen) low-angle jack plane.  One issue for making joints is how to get it perpendicular to the face of the wedge, which I found easiest to accomplish with the plane in a vise, with an auxiliary perpendicular board.  Still, you need to be careful to have a super-sharp blade, thin cuts, and even pressure and speed.