Maestronet Forums

Thumb plane advice?

Crimson0087

Hi,

Has anyone found any affordable yet decent quality thumb planes? I am just getting started and do not want to spend 100 dollars per plane on the IBEX ones yet the chinese ones I find on ebay seem....questionable? Which is why I ask? Has anyone found a decent brand other than ibex that isnt as expensive. Or any that you can recommend for a beginner to get started without spending a fortune?

I haven't used the IBEX planes, but my teacher said that no one he knows likes them anyway.  

The Herdim planes are much cheaper and the wooden wedge system is, surprisingly, easier to operate than the screw.  The steel is good quality.  The throats of the planes are usually a little tight, so you may have to file them more open.  You can get them from Dictum and elsewhere.  

https://www.dictum.com/en/planes-replacement-blades-jba/herdim-plane-with-wooden-wedge-arched-sole-blade-width-5-mm-702530

https://www.dictum.com/en/planes-replacement-blades-jba/herdim-plane-with-wooden-wedge-flat-sole-blade-width-5-mm-702510

https://www.dictum.com/en/planes-replacement-blades-jba/toothed-blade-for-herdim-plane-arched-blade-width-10-mm-702812

The ones I have, which I believe are more than enough to make violins and violas, are as follows: 

- Flat sole, 12mm blade width

- Round sole, 12mm blade width

- Round sole, 10mm blade width (normal blade and tooth blade)

- Round sole, 7mm blade width

If I had to pick only 2, I'd take the two smaller ones of what I listed.  The flat one is useful for finalizing the outline of the plates, but you can get away without it if you're up for some filing.  The 12mm round plane is really just a changeup tool so my hands don't blister as quickly, and so I don't have to sharpen as often.  I haven't found it superior to the 10mm for any task thus far.