Maestronet Forums

Cello case preference

Jim Bress

I have a Bam Hightech I’ve been using for 15 years. It cost $1100 back then. I don’t think the exact equivalent is available now, But here’s my advice to my kids:

avoid wheels. They had weight and aren't very useful.

Avoid Velcro bow fasteners if possible. The Velcro wears out overtime and are not replaceable.

Try and find a case that has easily replaceable hinges. The hinges in my case are riveted   in place and can’t be replaced.

I will be interested in what suggestions others offer, Because I used my case for so long and gotten used to it

1 hour ago, PhilipKT said:

I have a Bam Hightech I’ve been using for 15 years. It cost $1100 back then. I don’t think the exact equivalent is available now, But here’s my advice to my kids:

avoid wheels. They had weight and aren't very useful.

Avoid Velcro bow fasteners if possible. The Velcro wears out overtime and are not replaceable.

Try and find a case that has easily replaceable hinges. The hinges in my case are riveted   in place and can’t be replaced.

I will be interested in what suggestions others offer, Because I used my case for so long and gotten used to it

Thanks for the tips! BTW, rivets are easily replaced. Maybe I should say that rivets are designed to be easily replaced by people that know how and have the appropriate tools. Any machine shop should be able to drill out and buck new rivets for you when the need arises.

Thanks,

Jim

Depends on whether you are going to be traveling with your cello and/or where it will live in your house.