Maestronet Forums

Bow by Johann Wilhelm Knopf?

27 minutes ago, martin swan said:

Not the best angles to judge ...

the fittings certainly look good for Knopf family, but the throat of the frog and the thumb projection look somewhat abused.

I see if I can post a couple more photos. I also thought that about the angle of the throat  of the frog. But I have seen other " Knopf" bows with this kind of worked angle...wondering if it was done purposely. Does the fact that it is not stamped detract from anything? I am still going J W KNOPF....but I am not an expert.

IMG-20210610-WA0011.jpg

IMG-20210610-WA0012.jpg

IMG-20210610-WA0008.jpg

IMG-20210610-WA0013.jpg

IMG-20210610-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20210610-WA0015.jpg

You can't get a definite confirmation here if the bow is a JW Knopf or isn't. It looks like a very nice bow from this school, though personally I think that the head is a bit too squarish, especially the front, and the adjuster collar looks also a bit different from what I'm used to see from this maker (the frog projection is most probably altered), but this could be also within a range of variations. There were other members of the Knopf family or coworkers, makers trained in the shop etc. producing similar models, so that this is very difficult to judge by photos. The best you can do is to ask an respected expert in regards of this bows, maybe Klaus Grünke or Isaac Salchow about it.

Your bow is without doubt a (very nice) unstamped Markneukirchen bow from the late 19th C.

There is an irritating tendency to attribute all such bows to one “Knopf” or another. However one should bear in mind that bows of this sort, almost never have a signature (stamp), particularly before the foundation of the bow makers Innung (guild) in 1888, and that a reliable official statistic pertaining to there manufacture is available.