Maestronet Forums

Sunday In The Park With George...

Cathode Ray

Actually it was Saturday when I visited George Behary at his home in Loxehatchee. I am new to fiddling and he was gracious enough to share his insight and knowledge(which is extensive!) with me. I have made a couple fiddles and was searching for a critique of my work.
We talked violins old and new how each of us came to our interest in them. George is not only a competent luthier but a very accomplished machinist - he showed me  specialized luthiery tools he has made. We discussed our common interest in things ranging from aircraft to beer brewing - he a true renaissance man.
It's nice to know there are people around willing to share and help the neophytes. Thanks much for your time and knowledge George.

Cathode Ray (aka Ashley Davis)

P1010014.JPG

Hi Ashley,

Thanks for your post.

I have moved this thread into the pegbox for now, but if you are looking for a critique of some of your work I would suggest posting a thread in the Makers Gallery Forum and adding a few more detailed photos of your work.

There are many talented makers on the forum that will glady give you some advice I am sure.

Shelbow

30 minutes ago, Shelbow said:

I have moved this thread into the pegbox for now

I wondered how you could move stuff - only admin can do that - and then I saw the "moderator badge"

Is that new, or have I been asleep ?

Anyways, i shall have to remember not to tread on your toes from now on  :lol:

Congrats are in order. :)

I just stepped in recently to help Jeff out in regards to approving posts a bit quicker as he was the only moderator. As he is in the US there is always a period of time in the day that he may not be able to review posts. With me being in the UK it means we can cover things a bit quicker.

I can approve, move and delete things but that is about it. I will leave Jeff to do the official moderation as he is much more experienced than I.