Maestronet Forums

Slight deformed/kinked Rib, leave it?

Regit

Hi, I started reading the wonderful posts in this forum since the beginning of the year and this is my first post. I am not a player, but my boy is, and I would like to learn as much about the violin to support him as the “equipment manager”.

Recently, I realised that at the lower treble bout of my son’s violin, there is a very slight indent to the rib. I have read about deformed rib due to humidity changes; tight chinrest, etc. But I am not sure what caused the indent on this violin.

I have 2 questions and hope that the folks here can provide some advice:

1) is this something that needs to be attended immediately? Or leave it be?

2) it does not looks like impact damage (I am guessing) and would like to know what can case a slight indent like this. If this is due to user error, we would like to correct it and prevent further aggravation.

I am a noob at this, so apologies if this is really no source for concerns.

Regit

88231F72-A2CD-4E16-AB68-E096B3461591.jpeg

8 hours ago, Regit said:

Hi, I started reading the wonderful posts in this forum since the beginning of the year and this is my first post. I am not a player, but my boy is, and I would like to learn as much about the violin to support him as the “equipment manager”.

Recently, I realised that at the lower treble bout of my son’s violin, there is a very slight indent to the rib. I have read about deformed rib due to humidity changes; tight chinrest, etc. But I am not sure what caused the indent on this violin.

I have 2 questions and hope that the folks here can provide some advice:

1) is this something that needs to be attended immediately? Or leave it be?

2) it does not looks like impact damage (I am guessing) and would like to know what can case a slight indent like this. If this is due to user error, we would like to correct it and prevent further aggravation.