Maestronet Forums

How to tell if wood is tonewood quality? And how to mill? Spruce in the Olympics, probably Sitka

My job puts me adjacent to some campground operations on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington.

We've been instructed to remove all the leftover rounds from a tree that needed felling.  I'm think it's a sitka spruce, but I'm not an expert.  It was felled(or blew over) inwinter or in the spring this year, so I expect it'll need to be milled and then air dried for at least a couple years.

But how is tonewood quality wood identified?  This doesn't look like fir, hemlock, or cedar(or smell like cedar), and spruce is the other common conifer up here.  And how is it milled-is it a special process, or can any sawmill do it?  There are several small ones around here. Or is it something I can do myself?

The rounds are all ~3 feet in diameter and 14"-24" tall.  There's one that's tall enough it might even be cello size, but I don't know if I'll be able to snag that one.

The first two pics are one tree, the 2nd two I believe are of a different tree.

567608623_maybespruce4.jpg.3fdc25f215baef5f68068e252d934e22.jpg63571682_maybespruce3.thumb.jpg.f5e619ab95332f28279eb8ac165b82c5.jpg72286525_maybespruce2.thumb.jpg.5bd16720243a87b502f8f56fbfb5b997.jpg935170644_maybespruce1.thumb.jpg.1d5535af2a115dcefa88dd09d8598436.jpg

Home | Orcas Island Tonewoods (radiofreeolga.com)

Tonewood | The Wood Well | United States

Bruce is on Orcas, the Wood Well is in Quilcene. Bruce has always been helpful, but he is retired now so you might have to be patient. I haven't dealt with the Wood Well in a while, but I reference them because they are nearby and might be helpful.