Maestronet Forums

On the bow hunt....

I am now on the bow hunt, and I would really appreciate some tips and tricks for getting the most out my time amongst hundreds of bows, and what checkpoints to keep in mind as well. I've never done this before as I've always bought fiddler man carbon fiber... those had served me well, but I feel it is holding me slightly back, and I just graduated...

Edit: I am playing quite a few bows in and out of my price range at the shop.

Thanks all,

Flatt

Me too! Except I already have a decent bow.  I too am looking though!

If you are looking for a serious bow, I have to say you have to try them out.  Try out a ton of bows.

I'm looking to get one from auction where I won't be able to play with the bows, but that is only because I have one that I already like and a new bow would just be for the sake of having one.

Lastly, I also have a carbon fiber bow.  It does lots of lovely things for me.  It does not compare with a good wooden stick in terms of sound.  Just my opinion though.

35 minutes ago, violinnewb said:

...If you are looking for a serious bow, I have to say you have to try them out.  Try out a ton of bows...

That is my advice, too.   If you gave your general location, you might get some recommendations for dealers with selections of bows you could visit to try them out.

Try some good CF bows, too. Although some people think that they don't sound as good as wooden bows, this general statement is incorrect.

Just like wooden bows, some CF bows match very well to some violins (as good as a wooden bow), and not so well with others. The better Coda bows, for example, are very good players.

How does the song go...?

”I’ll know, when my love comes along, I’ll know, then and there...”

add to that Cinderella “man I’m kissing a lotta frogs and not one prince yet!”

And that’s all you need to know.