Maestronet Forums

Half saddle

Brumcello

Tried the search function but got limited information on this. While casually chatting with friends and comparing instruments we noticed this half height saddle. Quite different from any of the other instruments. Any significance?

DSC00085.jpg

2 minutes ago, jacobsaunders said:

There are all sorts of saddle, so you didn’t try very hard with the search function. The most innovative one was invented by the famous Mr. Burgess, so you should be able to find that one there too

Maybe I didn't make myself clear, maybe I'm not good at using the search function but putting in half height AND saddle I only found one discussion which was rather inconclusive. 

5 minutes ago, martin swan said:

It crops up in a lot of different traditions, mainly early to mid 20th century - some French makers, Prague makers too, as well as some German makers. 

So I wouldn't be inclined to read much into it.

Thanks Martin. Just a style thing then? It did occur to me that fitting a saddle this way is a bit more work than cutting through the full thickness of the table as is done on the other instruments we looked at. But as I'm not a luthier I probably have misunderstood how big a deal (or not) that is.

13 hours ago, Brumcello said:

It did occur to me that fitting a saddle this way is a bit more work than cutting through the full thickness of the table as is done on the other instruments we looked at. But as I'm not a luthier I probably have misunderstood how big a deal (or not) that is.

You have it the wrong way around, it’s not easier to cut out more.

7 minutes ago, Wood Butcher said:

You have it the wrong way around, it’s not easier to cut out more.

Could you explain more please. My uneducated feeling was that cutting through the full thickness of the table was technically simpler than cutting 2-3mm down (exactly the same depth on each side) then cutting a perfectly horizontal cut so that the saddle sits on the newly cut surface.