Maestronet Forums

Gustave Bernardel violin

I have been playing for the last 9 months a Gustave Bernardel violin dating from 1892 in almost pristine condition which hadn't been played for a while, and have followed discussions on Maestronet about this maker and the Gand & Bernardel firm. I have to say it is absolutely the best violin I have ever played.  Strong, even, sweet, clear, responsive, you name it, it's got it... including a wonderful pianissimo, and harmonics I have never heard before, a strong B natural on the E string, you choose between the G string  6th and the E string 3rd harmonic.... plus for the first time I actually 'enjoy' C sharp. 

I was interested in Martin Swan's comments that Gand and Bernardel violins can be inflexible, but on his website he gives the only Gustave Bernardel violin he has tried  3 stars, i.e. up with the best. My questions are these:

a) It is made with an outside mould, and over 1,500 violins had been made by the 'firm' before mine. How many moulds did G&B use, and how many 'sister violins' are there to mine?

b) Why should a Gustave B in 1892 be different from a G&B in 1891?

c) I have seen comments somewhere that there are 'early' and late' G&Bs. What is the difference?

d) Did G&B make Guaneri models, mine is a Strad type?

Would be most grateful for responses from  m'learned members of this forum if these questions are of interest.

Many thanks in advance.

Edited by Samuel Detached
typo

Should one consult Terriers genealogy page for the Bernadels, Généalogie. Bernardel . (luthiers-mirecourt.com) one finds no Gustav (well, I didn’t), which leaves at least me wonder if Gustav wasn’t a trade name from one of the large workshops, rather than an individual. If this is the case it would make your comparison with Gand & Bernadel sort of redundant

23 minutes ago, jacobsaunders said: