Maestronet Forums

how do you practice when you're not feeling like it?

There are times, where I felt like not practicing at all (and this hinders my practicing in so many ways). Maybe because I work full time and do a lot things besides practicing (going to school). I usually practice on average an hour a day (I am not a professional player). It also feels like doing the same thing everyday (same routine). Do you guys have some advice? what do you guys think of giving a day or two off and how will you go about it? maybe I am feeling burned out?

I work full time, really bad hours, but I love practicing,so I dont have your problem.  If for some reason I didnt want to practice, I simply wouldnt, for me it would be turning it into a job of work rather than a pleasure, which for me it is.

Why not have some days when you just play any tunes you want, without worrying about having to practice, try different styles, like trad, or Blues..

22 hours ago, nimrak said:

There are times, where I felt like not practicing at all 

I remember an saying from one of the old violinist of yesteryear - one day of not practicing I'll know, two days of not practicing my friends will know and three days of not practicing everyone will know.

Just jump into your studies somewhere and find something that needs work and start there.  If it only last five minutes, oh well.  Otoh, it could lead to a three hour practice/playing session that day too.

The devil is in the details.  What is your current routine?  What are your goals?  Are you studying with a teacher?  

I'll listen to my favorite violinists for inspiration.  Sometimes I pick a piece I want to learn, and don't look for the music for it.  Learning by ear and doing transcriptions always get me excited to practice.