Makers and instruments to look for in the $20k-50k USD range.

Hi Everybody,

I am an amateur violinist who has been playing since high school (over 10 years ago) on a German trade violin purchased for about $8k.  Although it is not a valuable instrument, my teacher and I picked it out of many instruments on the market, and I find that it has a powerful tone that exceeds its price.  My playing has not yet exceeded the instrument's tonal limits, but a bit as a personal reward for myself and just out of love for music and instruments, I am considering getting a new, better violin.  I have set a wide budget at this time, from $20k up to $50k at the absolute maximum.  I am still figuring out what I want and need, but the purpose of this post is to gather some input on that side of things and also to ask for suggestions to look out for.