Maestronet Forums

Violin ID

bridgeshome

• Replies 82
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am not an expert, and I don't even play one on TV, but I want to try to apply the Jacob Saunders® method to this lovely violin and see how close I get.  And then the actual experts can come on and dismantle me, and we'll find out what this violin actually is.

OK, so I don't think this is "the usual."

Scroll fluting goes to the "bitter end."  Corners appear not to be pinched together.  One-piece bottom rib.  I don't think this is BOB.  I confess that the elegant shape of the f-holes (which is not really an official thing, but...) looked Mittenwald-y...

So, Mittenwald, c. 1780-1800?

35 minutes ago, Strad O Various Jr. said:

Once again the pictures provide no proof of the fluting going to the bitter end, will people please learn to take pictures from the right angle, below the volute and to the side of the pegbox

Any closer? Thanks. I appreciate the learning experience you all provide.14C00B03-C5C3-497C-A92A-A198DD6153F4.thumb.jpeg.55fc0644a4854ce5128802a6d6c9429e.jpeg

1BEDD4D5-7C6F-493F-9AAB-E17B0C3686EB.jpeg

E25E6199-D926-4EE6-9F29-079F011F59A5.jpeg

1A9F380E-FE7E-4205-B50F-6CDFA92A2D8C.jpeg

If you take the scroll pics and throw them into an editor and blast the brightness it looks awfully like 'to the bitter end to me' and the bottom rib, which is in one piece unless there is an invisible mend (B)) surely excludes Saxon?  

The bottom rib is one piece, but there's a notch in the bottom plate. Rib joints look pinched together, not mitred, and are flush with the plate corners. It also looks as if it has lost a lot of varnish.

It's difficult to tell by the photos, but the scroll appears to be not so old as the body to me. Reminds me a lot of something like a Ficker from the early 19th century.

Hi @bridgeshome,

Can you measure the length of back? (https://www.wikihow.com/Measure-the-Body-Size-of-a-Violin,-Fiddle,-Viola,-Cello-or-Upright-Bass)