Big fiddle, little bow

I've decided to upsize my fiddle from the regular 13" to 18" (405mm stop) dropping an octave in the process. I tried quite a few expensive string combinations & now have cheap (Harley Benton) 4/4 cello set on. The viola bow I was using isn't up to the job of getting the thick bottom G string moving so I cable tied a weight onto the end of it which worked fine. Anyhow I decided to splash out & bought a cheap baroque style cello bow from Yita. It works way better nicer balance, improved tone & playability (Irish fiddle tunes). It's a good bit shorter than the viola bow & has narrower hair. I just thought I'd share.

1 hour ago, Wood Butcher said:

You are using an 18" viola, strung with 4/4 cello strings, tuned an octave lower than a violin, and using a baroque cello bow to play Irish fiddle music? Did I read that right?

A shame that the pubs are shut at the moment:)

I started playing tunes on a 1/2 size cello, it's 590mm stop is the same as my Tenor guitar all tuned GDAE. When I was proficient enough to take it into pub sessions here in Ireland it was immediately obvious that I couldn't hear it among accordions, banjos, & flutes. Others could but that's no good to me. Getting a smaller size under the chin is clearly audible when I play it. I tried different string combinations including 3/4 cello string set. The standard 4/4 cello I found to work well, so for its next change it will get a quality set of 4/4s. The shorter baroque cello  bow which isn't really a genuine baroque bow works a treat. 

Hi Harley --