Bazzini - Dance of the Goblins/Scherzo Fantastique

As I veer past middle-agedness, I must be going mad...or maybe it's the stay-at-home for 9 months insanity...

I thought to myself, hmmm I should learn some new pieces!  I never learned the Tchaik Cto, so after 5 months, I'm through the cadenza!  Then I thought, hmmm....how about adding a new shorter piece to my repertoire?

Bought the sheet music for Bazzini's Scherzo Fantastique, otherwise commonly known as The Dance of the Goblins, and painfully , but successfully, got through the first page....

I thought that for sure the down-bow and up-bow staccato would be my hang up.  Nope.  The double-stop trills (not technically trills) and the double stop harmonics f'ing killed me.  Anyone here have any fingerings and/or tips on how to handle either technique?

Please...I am not a beginner, so no need to speculate as to whether the piece is too difficult for me.  It is, but not so much because I am not lacking in skill.  Also, I have a thick skin but I would rather read advice and suggestions specific to this piece.  No snarky remarks from the peanut gallery please.

image1.jpeg

image0.jpeg

One way to approach the spots that are giving you trouble is to deconstruct the measures. You can mark where each beat falls, then focus on getting the correct double stop for each beat. That gives a framework for the progression. Then you can focus on the trills in between the beats.

The fingerings provided ought to work. I’d add that you can make things a little easier for yourself if you make use of the open D in measure 2 and the rests in other spots to prepare your shifts. It’s much more difficult to make the leaps if you’re trying to do it on or immediately before the beat. Those little breaks offer a lot of help. 

1 minute ago, The Violin Beautiful said: