Installing pegbox bushing in inexpensive no-name violin

Background:  I started learning violin in grade school and once I was big enough for a full-size violin, my parents bought me a used Scherl & Roth Karl Herrmann student violin, which I still have. I have no idea how much they paid for it nor what it's worth, now.

I lost my violin teacher in 7th grade, stopped playing until I was in my 30s, but then took lessons again for a year or two. During that time of taking lessons, I had some repairs done to my violin and also bought an inexpensive no-name violin with a Glasser bow for about $100 from a music store in St. Louis. Music Folk, I think? The goal with this instrument was to have a "beater" that I didn't have to worry about, but I liked its tone better than the Scherl & Roth. Then the Scherl & Roth's tailpiece broke at the E-string fine tuner.

I stopped playing again for 10+ years (again lost teacher because she moved, then I did), and recently started up again a couple of months ago. Both bows had been the victims of bow bugs, so I traded the Glasser bow in for a rehaired one. The Scherl & Roth violin has a crack to the bass side of the tailpiece on the top plate, and I still haven't replaced the tailpiece, so I started using the "beater" violin, thinking that if I kept up with it for a year, I'd spring to get the crack repaired and tailpiece replaced on the Scherl & Roth, and its bow rehaired, since that's probably the better violin, and also has quite a bit of sentimental value.

I consider myself a beginner, still, and am currently getting back up to speed on my own.

In the meantime, the "beater" violin has one fine tuner, so I've been learning how to tune with pegs, which has been difficult because the D-peg slips like nobody's business. I called a local music store (not a luthier) to see what they would charge to replace the pegs, and they quoted me a basement price of about $150 PER PEG to replace them.