Wrap-Around On Scroll Fluting

I am completely self taught without good professional examples to work from.  So I have a question about the outer f luting on the scroll...

How far under the scroll (where is joins the pegbox) does the fluting usually extend?

Below is a scroll that I have roughed out (cherry, for a fiddle).  The images show how far I can go with gouges but without buggering up the pegbox.  Is this acceptable?  If not, how do I do it?

20201220_163750.jpg

20201220_163738.jpg

How far the fluting goes into the throat differs depending on what school of violin making one wishes to aspire too. It is also a useful hint when one is trying to work out where an antique violin comes from. On Mittenwald violins for instance, the fluting goes right to the bitter end of the throat, on Markneukirchen ones, the fluting often finishes at about 6 o’clock, on cheaper ones, even earlier. From your pictures, I would describe yours as about 6 o’clock, quarter past perhaps. If you can’t get any further than that with a gouge, you should try using a knife. You would make life easier for yourself if the throat were more open (i.e. wider). A head doesn't need to go around with it's chin down on its chest:)

Thank you for your kind assistance.  Knife worked well.  Managed to add an extra 30 minutes of turn in.  So perhaps I am in Western France now?  :-)

Thank you for the advice about the throat.  I bought some Stradivarius Mediceo 1747 metal templates for the arching and neck - and the neck template has no throat as you have noted.  I have wondered whether this was an artifact of the metal cutting process rather than "actual" to the 1747 instrument.

On the other hand, the arching templates sound very nice and much better than flatter the arching I was using before.

Shunyata,