Sign in to follow this  
Wood Butcher

Would you buy old wood over new, if you could?

Rather than derail @Shelbow's thread in the auction scroll, I thought it was more appropriate to ask here.

If you were looking to buy wood for making, would you prefer older wood (maybe 30-40 years dried) over recently cut wood from a dealer?

Would you be prepared to pay a premium for the older wood?

If the older wood is a makers "left overs", might it be better just to buy fresh wood, which may be better quality and possibly cheaper?

I bought old wood from an auction when starting out and had no wood. Then I built up enough new stock that I can replace with new as I use it. By the time I get to it, the wood will be old enough. In my limited experience, newer wood (5-10 years) gouges nicer than the 30-40 year stuff that I've used.

-Jim

As a student I always bought new wood and don't have any particular desire for old wood unless it is gifted to me.

I did start making a neck for a vihuela out of shelves that were 50 years old and it was nice to work with.

There are two broad changes that wood undergoes as it is "aged".

1. It reaches a stable moisture content with the ambient air.

Freshly cut woods tend to have a significant amount of "free water". The weight of the water can exceed the weight of the wood fibers for many species of wood. But if you cut new wood to just a little bigger than the size you want to work with, typically +15% larger in all dimensions to account for shrinkage, and let it air dry in a space with about the same temperature and relative humidity as your house, it will reach a stable moisture content in about 1 year per 1 inch of thickness. 

Basically, for wood rough dimensioned to sizes you would need to make a violin, there is no difference in stable moisture content between 1 year old wood and "old" wood.

2. It reaches desired physical properties.