Sign in to follow this  
ffraley

What is (not) sorth fixing?

I couldn't resist a $29 old violin on Craigslist. Very plain label just says copy of strad, made in Germany. From the fragile old cloth imitation leather on the case I'm guessing ~1900? No blocks, a thin lining looks almost like cardboard. Two 1.5" spots to reglue on the back plate. Tailpiece and endpin are there and seem to fit well, no bridge, soundpost down but there appearing to be pretty fine grained.  Missing nut, but a blank is in the case. Bow looks thicker than my "modern" bows, frog moves OK, straight stick.

I'm assuming it is a factory German import. Is it worth getting fixed up? How far should I go? Wild guesses at costs? Are these bows worth rehairing?

Fred

I am a 68 YO beginner with a couple of useable ex-rental student violins, specializing in open string and first finger exercises

20200916_165812.jpg

20200916_165833.jpg

20200916_165852.jpg

20200916_165948.jpg

20200916_165959.jpg

20200916_170036.jpg

20200916_170044.jpg

20200916_170053.jpg

20200916_170106.jpg

20200916_170147.jpg

20200916_170256.jpg

20200916_170306.jpg

20200916_170405.jpg

20200916_170450.jpg

20200917_112709.jpg

20200917_112543.jpg

20200917_112523.jpg

20200917_112325.jpg

You got a nice Markie for $29, prime "usual rubbish", circa 1910. Congratulations!

You'll need minimal tools and supplies to:

1} reset, or, cut and set a soundpost when the old one doesn't fit right, (2 "cloverhead" setters, 1 pliers-type setter, Exacto knife or scalpel or sharp chisel [also for bridge and nut], soundpost gauge, soundpost retriever, razor saw, a length of violin soundpost stock, 1 stiff business card),

2} fit/cut a bridge (10 cheap Chinese bridges to practice on, 1 good Aubert bridge, carbon paper, metric vernier caliper, bridge template or French curve, General Tools 16ME or equivalent ruler/protractor, #2 pencil [for nut also]),