Hardener for shellack

10 minutes ago, jacobsaunders said:

I have no chemical knowledge at all, I'm afraid, but I would add some sanderac to it

Ive used shellac with around 25% sandarac  for alot of things. The film hardens faster and the shellac stops the cracking etc.. often associated with straight sandarac.

Shellac is only a solution. It hardens by having the solvent evaporate out of it. That's different from oil varnish, where the varnish reacts with the oxygen in the air, and a siccative (drying agent), like some metal salts will catalyze the reaction. So, there is no additive that will do that with shellac. Warm air blowing over it will help.

3 hours ago, FiddleDoug said:

Shellac is only a solution. It hardens by having the solvent evaporate out of it. That's different from oil varnish, where the varnish reacts with the oxygen in the air, and a siccative (drying agent), like some metal salts will catalyze the reaction. So, there is no additive that will do that with shellac. Warm air blowing over it will help.

Agreed. Shellac is pretty inert, and mostly hardens from solvent evaporation. But solvent evaporation from shellac can be pretty slow. It is still considered to be a pretty effective "barrier coating" for moisture and grease penetration,  also some solvents. The Zinsser shellac-based paints I have used on the inside of my shower have outlasted other paints by a factor of roughly 5 to 10.

6 hours ago, David Burgess said:

Agreed. Shellac is pretty inert, and mostly hardens from solvent evaporation. But solvent evaporation from shellac can be pretty slow. It is still considered to be a pretty effective "barrier coating" for moisture and grease penetration,  also some solvents. The Zinsser shellac-based paints I have used on the inside of my shower have outlasted other paints by a factor of roughly 5 to 10.

Do you mean this product? The problem is that I can't buy Zinnser paints in Japan. 

image.png

9 hours ago, FiddleDoug said: