Sign in to follow this  
KB_Smith

The Other Half of Your Instrument - Your Bow

I learned an interesting and important lesson this week - just how important your bow is to the quality of your play and practice.  I am a novice student, having just finished my first year learning to play a violin.  I bought an "Old French Violin" last year on eBay.  And, as you might expect, it is a German trade violin from one of the many workshops in the Markneukirchen/Shoenbach region with a fake French label in it.  It is genuinely old, but just not a very high-quality violin.  But it plays nicely and sounds beautiful in my instructor's hands (a professional violinist in the Washington D.C. area). 

So now about one-year into my playing, my bowing has improved significantly, but I still struggle with getting nice clean & clear tones from the instrument.  My instructor suggested I go into any of the violin shops in the area and try some better bows.  My bow is another $100 eBay purchase - supposedly an "Old German Bow" that is more likely a Chinese product according to my local violin shop.  Shocking, isn't it (said in sarcasm)?!  So, two days ago I went into my local violin shop to try bows.  I noticed an instant improvement in the quality of the sound from my instrument.  From the very first bow the dealer handed me to try, the feel of the strings under the bow was better - not grinding.  Much smoother feel as the bow more easily flowed over each string, and with much less vibration (that grinding, growling kind of vibration) from my G and D strings.