Sign in to follow this  
David Burgess

Joe Bein separates from Bein and Fushi

54 minutes ago, David Burgess said:

I have not yet been able to sort everything out yet, nor do I even know if "Bein and Fushi" even exists any more.

https://theviolinchannel.com/joe-bein-to-launch-own-violin-shop-bein-and-company-instrument-dealers-chicago/

If it's gone, that puts an end to one of the most amusing punning nicknames any business ever had.  :huh::ph34r:

Joe is a good guy.  I went there in March to do some research (I’m a chemistry professor, and violin research is a side hobby).   Not only did he bring out a selection of Cremonese and Brescian instruments for me to work with, but he also took an hour out of his busy day to talk shop, even though I was upfront that I was not a customer that day.   I wish him well.   I wonder how they will split the inventory, if they are splitting up the business?

4 hours ago, David Burgess said:

I have not yet been able to sort everything out yet, nor do I even know if "Bein and Fushi" even exists any more.

https://theviolinchannel.com/joe-bein-to-launch-own-violin-shop-bein-and-company-instrument-dealers-chicago/

I have to wonder too.  I notice that Fushi is featured prominently, but Robert Bein is almost erased from the web site.  And there's little mention of the current management or expertise except for the sales staff.  I've been gone from Chicago for a long time.  Am I missing something?

On the other hand, news of a possibly great new shop is always welcome.

It's always unsettling when an "institution" or power, comes to an end...

Like Mesopotamia, Constantinople, Rome, the monarchy...

...my brain is tired :angry:...need funnier examples...:ph34r:

1 minute ago, Rue said:

Jerry Lewis and Dean Martin?

I’m going straight to hell now.....

DLB

1 hour ago, Rue said:

It's always unsettling when an "institution" or power, comes to an end...

Like Mesopotamia, Constantinople, Rome, the monarchy...

North America