Sign in to follow this  
tchaikovsgay

1-Hour Practice Routine

Hi. I'll graduate in September. I hope I can squeeze a minimum of 1 hour per day for practicing the violin apart from my job (hopefully I can get one).

Currently as a music student, I have the luxury to practice for a maximum of 5 hours per day, doing basics, scales, studies (etudes), concertos and solo piece (so far, just bach), 1 hour each. I also read theory and violin books and watch violin performances and tutorial videos in between breaks.

Worst case scenario is my job has nothing to do with violin playing. But, I swear I won't stop playing the violin. Any advice on the proportion and content for this condensed 1 hour routine?

P.S. Some life goals I want to accomplish include having played all 16 Schradieck & Sevcik exercises, studies by Fiorillo, Dont, Gavines, Rode, Paganini, Wieniawski and eventually Ernst at the right tempo correctly (unfortunately still on Kreutzer), and having learnt my favorite concertos including Khachaturian, Vieuxtemps 4 and Prokofiev 1. Then, I can challenge myself for LRSM and FRSM. Also, LMus and FMus; I'll try to read on public transport I guess...

Thank you

It is remarkable what you can achieve when you have a clear goal and little time. Study the technical works carefully and make your own exercises to save time. Use your imagination!

On 7/1/2020 at 12:18 AM, tchaikovsgay said:

Hi. I'll graduate in September. I hope I can squeeze a minimum of 1 hour per day for practicing the violin apart from my job (hopefully I can get one).

Currently as a music student, I have the luxury to practice for a maximum of 5 hours per day, doing basics, scales, studies (etudes), concertos and solo piece (so far, just bach), 1 hour each. I also read theory and violin books and watch violin performances and tutorial videos in between breaks.