Shelbow's World of Blasphemy!

Hello and welcome to Shelbow's world of blasphemy.

Just a bit of background to my world:

I trained as a manufacturing engineer when I was younger, worked in civil engineering for a bit (model making/QA engineer), went on to do a degree and masters in musical instruments (primarily a maker of plucked stringed instruments), made parts for state of the art electronic keyboards for a few years/ QA engineering work and now I'm working part time helping to look after some historic instrument collections.

I like to experiment with materials and make things up as I go along. I don't like anything that is normal! :lol:

I'm really fascinated by baroque violins and bows. I have looked at a number of bows, read a few books and spoken to a few makers but I have no prior experience. I would very much like to move in to making bows full time in the future once I have learnt a bit more / made some more bows and gone on a course.

Here is Bow #1 that I have made - Some kind of Hybrid baroque bow thing with a screw mechanism I made myself - Basically I thought I would just practice doing loads of different things on it to understand how bows can work.

(Sorry for the crap picture but I left it at work and never took any proper ones)

Everything was made in my bedroom as I have no workshop.

Loosely based on a few contemporary baroque bows I have looked at.

Materials: Purple Heart (Stick) Kingwood (Frog) Paduak + Corian (Button)