Sign in to follow this  
outofnames

Finger tape on instruments

I didn't want pollute the cello thread so I thought I'd start a new one.

I started learning the violin in 2017 at 44 with no musical background.  I was very doubtful about my ability to play by ear and hear if the notes were in tune.   I tried a wrap around finger guide first but found it interfered with the strings.  I then went to finger tape.

After 4 months of lessons I started to get concerned about it becoming a crutch holding me back.  

I ripped all of it off but for the 4th finger as I felt like I needed a guide for placing hand.  After another 2 weeks, I removed it as well.

It was a little rocky at first, but I began to realize that my aural skills had started to develop.  Plus, I was free to find the notes if the strings were a tad sharp or flat.

Looking back, I now realize I would have been fine without the tape from the start.  Fortunately, it only took a few months to recognize it as something that would impede, not help, me.

I began working on 3rd position in March of this year and I've come to realize just how much my I've learned to listen to what I'm playing.  Turns out I can hear just fine After all.

I agree...No Tape.

I am not a fan of tape use either, but I think it's fine for beginners, so they can 'see' where their fingers are supposed to go.  Otherwise, the concept of finding the correct note in a dark forest of 'nothingness' can be too abstract and overwhelming.

Once they they can connect the 'see' to the 'hear' I think the tapes should be removed, as you mentioned, so they don't become a crutch.