Sign in to follow this  
tchaikovsgay

Delete

I have learned and tried all three (3) scale systems to some extent or another.

My last two teachers (from years and years ago) both preferred Galamian.  So....I only use Galamian now.  

Here are some takeaways from my daily routine lately.  Keep in mind, I am not a professional, semi-professional, or anything close.  I do teach young children and play in a few groups regularly.

I practice scales every day.  But I do not practice them in a consistent routine like playing all 12 major keys non-stop.  The way I do them...

1.  Every other day, I play all 12 major keys non-stop.  

2.  I routinely have one major concerto that I am always trying to polish up.  So, on alternate days, I practice scales in the key of that piece.  I do 2 octaves, 3 octaves, and 4 when the piece requires it.  I also do octaved scales and tenths.  Then I like to do arpeggios.  

3.  On days that I am not practicing a concerto, I practice short pieces.  Those days are the ones that I am just playing through three octave scales.  

The problem that I am having is that I tend to prefer D-major concertos...lol.  

With so much more time on my hands lately, I find myself practicing a lot more.  I also see myself practicing haphazardly.  So I say to you, the OP, just make sure you have a system and keep it on lock down (no pun intended).  You are a student and this is your thing.  Music is only my outlet and I work in my main profession from home, so I can get away with haphazard practicing.  :P

it doesn't matter.  have you thought about the purpose of it?  to me, the main thing you're doing playing them all without stopping is exercising the muscle in your head that gets tired from sustained concentration.  i'd say use vibrato...  also, use the circle of fifths, don't play them alphabetically.  it takes more concentration and is more musicianly

11 hours ago, Bill Merkel said: