Sign in to follow this  
Tostra

Vuillaume cello plate thicknesses

Hi there, I am an amateur working on my first cello. Although I don't think I can quite match the performance of my own cello, I would like to end up with a good sounding, powerful cello.
I'm about to do archings now, and since most of Denmark is closing down at the moment due to the whole corona thing, I expect to be graduating the plates pretty soon. I am basing my cello on a strad poster, a J.B. Vuillaume from 1865. That cello has from the very beginning given me some headaches, as everything is just slightly bigger than what I consider normal, and some of my wood had trouble fitting the specs. The ribs are 123-118 mm tall and 2.5-3mm thick, the bouts are wide and so on.. I have had to compromise on rib height and thickness simply because the rib stock I got was already cut. I ended up with 2mm of thickness and 119-118  mm height. I know I won't have the correct volume, but I'll just have to compromise a bit, as I have a very limited supply of wood here. Please tell me if there are certain things I can do to compensate for this loss of volume.
Now I'm arriving at the plate thicknesses, which look slightly odd to me. The top is quite thick, but the back is thin, and I'm considering if this is due to regraduations and therefore something I shouldn't follow?

Anyway, I was fortunate that my luthier had a beautiful Vuillaume cello (one of his earlier cellos, he said, if that helps anyone) in his shop the other day when I handed in my bow for a repair, and we measured the plate thicknesses. They seemed very different from what I read on the poster, and sure enough, there is a distinct difference. Here's a quick summary of the thicknesses:

Edges: Poster - 4mm, Cello - 3.2mm
Upper bout: Poster - 4-4.5mm, Cello - 3-3.5mm
Lower bout: Poster - 4.5mm, Cello - 2.7-3.2mm (4.2mm around bass bar end)
Center: Poster - 4.2-4.8mm, Cello - 4-4.6mm

Back
Edges: Poster - 3-3.6mm, Cello - 4-4.5mm