Sign in to follow this  
tango

Working with potassium dichromate.

Hi

This is my first time.
Do you seal the wood before apply dicromate?
I will test in crap wood first with seal and without.
Thanks in advance for any advise.

Regards

Tango

I haven't used it in a long time, but when I did I didn't seal the wood.  I think it has to contact the wood to have any effect.  It is not a pigmented stain -- it works by chemical reaction.  Initially the wood becomes an obnoxious yellow and later becomes brown.  Yes, try it on (s)crap wood first.

38 minutes ago, tango said:

Hi

This is my first time.
Do you seal the wood before apply dicromate?
I will test in crap wood first with seal and without.
Thanks in advance for any advise.

Regards

Tango

How can it kill you?  Let me count the ways...... 

Emergency Overview
--------------------------
DANGER! STRONG OXIDIZER. CONTACT WITH OTHER MATERIAL MAY CAUSE A FIRE. CORROSIVE. CAUSES SEVERE BURNS TO EVERY AREA OF CONTACT. HARMFUL IF SWALLOWED OR INHALED. AFFECTS THE RESPIRATORY SYSTEM, LIVER, KIDNEYS, EYES, SKIN AND BLOOD. MAY CAUSE ALLERGIC REACTION. CANCER HAZARD. CAN CAUSE CANCER. Risk of cancer depends on duration and level of exposure.

https://www2.atmos.umd.edu/~russ/MSDS/potassium_dichromate.htm

:rolleyes::huh:

I would love to have someone break down the differences/uses/dangers of..
Potassium Permanganate

Potassium Dicromate
Potassium Nitrate
Potassium Nitrite

Any takers?

Speaking of potassium dichromate.   Most will have noticed that it sometimes has a greenish cast.  This is from some oxide of chromium and results because the reaction in the wood does not go to completion.  

This is corrected by Carl Becker's stain.  This has the dichromate in an acid buffer solution involving dilute nitric acid and boric acid.  

It is not a Becker "secret."   Buffer solutions are commonly used in chemistry.

1 hour ago, DoorMouse said:

Potassium Permanganate

Potassium Dicromate
Potassium Nitrate
Potassium Nitrite