Sign in to follow this  
zhiyi_zhang617

Is this violin interesting?

42 minutes ago, deans said:

Are you saying you made it? 

Impossible! I am just an amateur violin enthusiast, knowing nothing in violin construction, other than what I learnt from this site. I acquired this violin from a well-known auction house for fine string instruments. It is a powerhouse with brilliant, projecting, yet pleasantly mature tone.

12 minutes ago, jacobsaunders said:

I would be inclined to wondering if it wasn't from early 9th C. France, but would need more information

It's possible, but sadly so few reference examples have survived ...

2 hours ago, martin swan said:

How did they describe it?

It has been a while now, and I try my best to recall: a Violin, c. 1800. Labeled "Johannes Antonius Marchi, Fecit Bononiae anno 1793."

It was auctioned among the early ones in the last pack, just before a few big names, something like Gaglianos, which everyone was focusing on that time.

Besides the handsome looking (you would agree if see it in person), it is felt somewhat compact in my hands.

3 hours ago, jacobsaunders said:

I would be inclined to wondering if it wasn't from early 9th C. France, but would need more information

3 hours ago, martin swan said:

It's possible, but sadly so few reference examples have survived ...

And by the 10th C. they had stopped using swords to carve them

2 hours ago, Dave Slight said:

And by the 10th C. they had stopped using swords to carve them

I think everyone accepts that by the 11th century the great secrets of violin-making were lost - the later development of the Cremonese style was surely a poor shadow or sumulacrum of the real tradition.

3 hours ago, martin swan said:

the later development of the Cremonese style was surely a poor shadow or sumulacrum of the real tradition.

Poor shadow, indeed. The original plans for the violin remain where they were buried under Stonehenge by aliens.

17 hours ago, GeorgeH said: