Sign in to follow this  
Levietta

Cello for beginner

Hello everyone! I’m a newbie at this forum. My name is Aria and I have a daughter who has just started playing cello. She likes her classes but she can’t bring the cello home. That’s why I’m thinking about buying her own one. Another option is just rent it but I see how she likes cello classes and I’m sure she will play it for a long time. I’ve searched the information about “beginners cello” and “budget cello” and they are different, of course. The question is what is better: to buy a cheap one for the first time or to buy a special one for beginners (maybe it’s easy to learn or easy to play)?
I now have these variants: Cremona SC-165 (for students) and Cecilio CCO-100 (budget). Are they good? Are there any other variants? This guy says the budget beginners cello could be for $200-399, is that true?
Thanks in advance!

Hello Aria,

It’s great to hear that your daughter is so excited about playing the cello. If she does indeed stick with it, it’ll reward her for the rest for her life!

Given that she’s new to the instrument and you’re looking for something that’s tailored to a beginning player, I strongly advise that you go to a violin shop (NOT a music store) near you and talk to the staff about renting an instrument. Maintenance of cellos is an investment, and it can make it hard to sustain if you’re paying for everything out-of-pocket. Keep in mind that in addition to the cost of the instrument, you’ll need to buy strings at least once a year, and the cello will need to be maintained by a luthier periodically to keep it in good playing shape.