Sign in to follow this  
Glock

Slicing the Bridge

Greetings.  I am new here and I fiddle with the violin.  I am a self taught fiddler.  Not real good at it but enough to enjoy playing the violin.   So who knows, and will share information about how critical it is to trim ,and fit the bridge to achieve the maximum tone, and volume of the violin?  I have noted that trimming the bridge is important regarding the sound production, so I am hoping someone can explain how this is done and why it is important, and where is the best information in performing this task.  I have always just bought a bridge and put it onto the instrument without trimming and fitting the bridge, and always frustrated about the sound.  As a self taught fiddler I have performed various tasks on the instrument, but this is new to me.

Glock, 

welcome to maestronet.

If you go to any subject such as bridges or bridge cutting followed by site:maestronet.com you will get to old discussions of the subject. I am sure most of your questions about this have already been discussed at length.

5 hours ago, Glock said:

I fiddle with the violin.  I am a self taught fiddler.

Me too.  I fiddle with them a lot.  Welcome to MN.  I agree with what Nathan said, here's some links to start, the first is one of the best "how-to" pages, and the second one is a set-up Google site search for "bridge cutting" at Maestronet.  :)

https://trianglestrings.com/carving-a-violin-bridge/

https://www.google.com/search?q=Bridge+cutting+site%3Amaestronet.com

On 1/2/2020 at 10:26 PM, nathan slobodkin said:

Glock, 

welcome to maestronet.

If you go to any subject such as bridges or bridge cutting followed by site:maestronet.com you will get to old discussions of the subject. I am sure most of your questions about this have already been discussed at length.

Thanks.  I will.

On 1/2/2020 at 11:46 PM, Violadamore said: