Sign in to follow this  
outofnames

Adult learner progress at 3 years

I had briefly introduced myself in another poster's thread, but I thought I'd start a new one to show how my violin journey has gone over the last 3 years. 

I have no musical background at all.  Watching my kids learn to play flute and sax respectively is what motivated me to take a leap of faith and try learning violin. 

I began in Dec 2016, first lessons in Jan 2017 and have been taking them weekly ever since.  I play / practice an hour a day.

And here's an audio sampling of what I've been able to do in 3 years (ignore the weak vibrato attempt at the end of the second file). First recording was 6 weeks after I started.  The other two are from this month. 

I'm jealous of the talented strings players here who started as kids!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1yfd6R6vq7rHHVK2ctX3bMiA_TrxrzcO3/view?usp=drivesdk

https://drive.google.com/file/d/10z3uBjGBkPftEYaVGWiwZ7wmIvy7uega/view?usp=drivesdk

https://drive.google.com/file/d/10ymqk2uduw2jcOZJlxZWHs9Dom8s7sgN/view?usp=drivesdk

I think you're doing very well in such a short period of time. Congrats and thanks for posting! :)

Hiya outofnames!

What great progress! Here is some constructive criticism:

1. Intonation- overall great!

2. Accuracy of rhythm-  a couple of rough spots, but by no means bad.

3. Phrasing- work on phrasing. 

I think that you should be very proud of yourself in your accomplishments. 

Thank you for the encouragement. 

I agree with the phrasing and rhythm comments, lots of work needed. 

One of the hard parts about learning as an adult is not having a benchmark against which I can guage myself.  My kids have classmates, county and regional bands to audition against, etc. that allows them to compare against peers.

I only have my teacher as an external party for feedback and I often wonder if my progress is typical, slow, etc. 

12 hours ago, outofnames said: