Sign in to follow this  
Marcellist

J. T. Lutz Schoenbach Saxony Markneukirchen Cello price estimate

Hi guys,

I'm a university student looking to buy a new cello. I came across this cello and was wondering if someone could have a look the pictures and information and tell me its rough price range?

Details:

Saxony made Markneukirchen cello with signature 

The cello dates back to 1880-1910

Label: J. T Lutz
ifrenien ergeuger
Schonbach (Bohemia)

Back: Slab cut maple
Ribs: similar maple
scroll: figured maple
top: two piece medium grained spruce

varnish yellow based red brown

Body Length 76.5cm
rib height 11.4cm
Ratio 28.7cm - 41 cm

The instrument is of the following origin: Johann (II) Lutz born 1854 son and puli of Vincent Lutz.

Thanks

s-l1600 (11).jpg

s-l1600 (10).jpg

s-l1600 (9).jpg

s-l1600 (8).jpg

s-l1600 (7).jpg

s-l1600 (6).jpg

s-l1600 (5).jpg

s-l1600 (4).jpg

s-l1600 (3).jpg

s-l1600 (2).jpg

s-l1600 (1).jpg

s-l1600.jpg

The Lutz family were a dealership (Verleger) in Schönbach, with branches elsewhere, significantly in Vienna, which I wrote about here

Lutz supplied instruments in a large range of price increments, yours seems quite a nice one. You should have a violin maker check if it has any technical issues. It was the better school cello in the second half of the 19th C.

4 minutes ago, hendrik said:

Maybe a sound post crack as well. 

Yes. It looked like a reflection of the string to me in the first place, but is another crack.

With 2 cracks in such bad places you have to wonder about the structural integrity of the top of the instrument . Are there open seams anywhere? 

i am aware of the asking price for this cello ,having found it online,

the cracks under the feet of the bridge seriously affect the value

in Australia the cello would be worth the asking price if the top was not cracked,

as it is, and without further investigation i would suggest it is worth half the asking price