Sign in to follow this  
Tostra

Choosing a cello model

Hi! I have been experimenting for a couple of years with violin restorations. I recently built a violin, and now I want to build a cello, as that is my main instrument. I have a lot of trouble deciding on a model, though, and I hoped that someone here could help me with that.
I play a Stradivari model cello, set up with a belgian bridge. It is very powerful with wonderful resonnance, expecially in the top register. For a belgian bridge, it is very well balanced over the four strings. I don't hope to build a cello as good as this one, so I want to make one that is different. I was thinking of making a dark cello and try to get that slightly dry/raspy sound that I hear from a lot of old cellos. My impression is that this would best be achieved with a wide cello with a relatively low arching, is that correct?
However, I don't particularly like the look of something like the sleeping beauty Montagnana with the very wide, almost boxy look. I much prefer the look of a Strad, even though they don't typically have the sound that I'm after. However, I heard that it is simply the volume that determines this, so I should almost be able to get the same results by making the ribs higher on a strad model. Is that true?

Does anyone have suggestions for a model that is wide and/or deep sounding, but still elegant, and which I can either get as a strad poster or find a model for online? I would probably prefer a digital model rather than a poster, as I like to just tweak the shapes a bit to my liking before I print them. I know this may sound like a stupid question, but I really have a hard time finding a model that I like and would like to hear other people's preferred models and their experiences with the tone of them.

Thank you in advance, Tobias