Sign in to follow this  
tartarane

VIOMATE

Hello

I was wondering if somebody heard about violmate ?

it is a device to send frequencies to "tune" a table or a back.

Can one order one somewhere ? what would be the price ?

is there something better on the market today ?

the machine I saw is about twenty years old 

thank you for your answers 

Tartarane

5 hours ago, tartarane said:

NO NO thank you for answering but it isn't that at all.

I am looking for the old machine  C Hutchins must have used , with which you can measure the modes  of a violin plate, back or front.  the guy who made these machines was in England in the 80-90 . Just noticed that I misspell the name of the machine is VIOMATE He made different models . Does that ring a bell ?

thank you

tartarane

IMG_9535.jpg

I have no direct knowledge, but that appears to be a variable frequency driver to drive a loudspeaker to excite a plate and make chladni patterns.

Today, you can get free signal generator apps for your phone and run it thru a $20 amplifier to do the same thing.  Technology marches on... for example,  yesterday my  phone sent me a message informing me that the yard irrigation system would shut down temporarily because of the rain predicted for the next 2 days.

thank you don Noon

yes , but the point is that the person I am looking it for does not use apps, so still wanting to find one

PS I am not sure that the app would be as accurate as this machine anyway

1 hour ago, tartarane said:

thank you don Noon

yes , but the point is that the person I am looking it for does not use apps, so still wanting to find one

PS I am not sure that the app would be as accurate as this machine anyway

I think the odds of finding a specific custom-made signal generator from 30+ years ago is not good.