Sign in to follow this  
jacklinks

Boveda - humidity

Does anyone here use Boveda packs for humidity control inside the case? If so, are you satisfied? Pros? Cons?  I just read about them but don’t have any experience with them. Thanks.

While I have zero experience with them, I can see a few issues that the user should be aware of.

There are two different "formulas"... one if you expect the environment to be drier than optimum, or one where you expect to be in a damp environment.  I suspect that they are actually the same pack, but one is supplied charged with moisture, and the other supplied dry.

There is a limit to how much moisture the pack can supply or absorb.  I don't think it would last very long in a Houston summer or Montana winter, especially if you open the case and play every day.  I haven't seen anything about re-conditioning the pack (with dry heat or steam, depending on what you need it to do), but it seems that should work... although the salt crystals may meld together in a block and lose effectiveness.

The recommended life is 2 - 6 months of use.

I suppose if you don't mind the cost and constant replacement, and are extremely  picky about humidity, this would be the thing for you.

It seems like this could be packaged in a re-usable way, where you could remove the salt itself and crush it up for re-use and re-conditioning... but then there wouldn't be a steady sales stream.  I don't see why the salt itself would go bad.

Stretto and similar products are out there. The cost is relative but i am not sure the product itself is more helpful than careful routines. Consider making a risk matrix and call the manufacturers if you have an expensive instrument or truly worried. If you live in the southwest, call Southwest strings for advice or a fine dealer in Northern Texas.