Sign in to follow this  
shunkpenn

Frog Restoration Advice

Looking for some advice on best practices in this type of repair.  The frog belongs to a pretty nice stick so I would like to make sure I do this right.

I marked in the photos in the two areas that need attention. One is a hairline crack the other is a slight chip. Much more evident in the photos then under the naked eye. Thanks for the help. 

AD5C75A6-167D-46C3-810C-CD7ECE51D745.jpeg

B1845A53-EB9D-4716-8DBE-59DAC5E12A08.jpeg

656CADF6-1FF2-4233-983A-B1987AE9693A.jpeg

66CEC453-1324-4564-AA52-C6B499A2A117.jpeg

I'm not an expert, but if I had that to do I'd use this. It has a thick consistency, it's black (duh), and I've used it for situations like yours with great results. I believe that it's reversible too.

IMG_1173.PNG

37 minutes ago, MarkBouquet said:

I'm not an expert, but if I had that to do I'd use this. It has a thick consistency, it's black (duh), and I've used it for situations like yours with great results. I believe that it's reversible too.

IMG_1173.PNG

I think the only problem with CA glues and finishes is that they tend to be shinier than the surrounding wood. 

To fix the missing bit of ebony, I would clean the surrounding wood and metal well, over-fill the gap with ebony dust and thin superglue and trim off the excess.  To fix the crack, I would try to clean it out so that it would close, then glue it with thin superglue.  If I couldn't get the crack to completely close, I would over-fill it with ebony dust and superglue then trim off the excess.

I find that a crack repair like this can be completely invisible if the crack can be closed before gluing it.  And an ebony dust and superglue fill like this can be invisible enough that I would never notice it if it weren't pointed out to me.

1 hour ago, Brad Dorsey said: