Sign in to follow this  
NoLuckSchmuck

Help Identifying Violin

Hello all!

This violin popped up at an auction house, and I was curious what your opinions of it were.

I am a complete novice in the violin trade, but to me, the wood quality, craftsmanship and varnish all appear to be of decent quality, I could be completely wrong about this though.

Anyways, I would like your help in identifying it's country of origin (to me it looks like a toss-up between France and Germany) as well as it's general quality (is it student grade, factory-made, or hand-crafted).

I am also curious what an intelligent price limit would  be when bidding on this instrument (I am really hoping for advice on this, even if you think my limit should be $50)

I apologize in advance if any of these questions seem ignorant. I am still learning a lot about violins and hope to learn even more from you all!

Thanks for your time!

Here are the photos which the auction house provides of the instrument:

i59u12-Alte-Geige-mit-Koffer.thumb.jpg.80d5f3dc0ce0c6d95765e81d6b7f190a.jpgi59u12-Alte-Geige-mit-Koffer-_57.thumb.jpg.b354d0e4a097b6743c7c5211e6f91620.jpgi59u12-Alte-Geige-mit-Koffer-_57-1.thumb.jpg.cc269eb96320787098adcee5a370226d.jpgi59u12-Alte-Geige-mit-Koffer-_57-3.thumb.jpg.f696a86105e0a07f5aebaa38f915dfb9.jpgi59u12-Alte-Geige-mit-Koffer-_57-4.thumb.jpg.e7cc27864eddd35e9e200b69ee961bca.jpgi59u12-Alte-Geige-mit-Koffer-_57-5.thumb.jpg.773b703bb972a8ec4c2278c97948ebbe.jpgi59u12-Alte-Geige-mit-Koffer-_57-6.thumb.jpg.114653d65d6a6aee6e5cf31278a0cd11.jpgi59u12-Alte-Geige-mit-Koffer-_57-7.thumb.jpg.3d35a8c11951d1995356e8ef37c721ec.jpgi59u12-Alte-Geige-mit-Koffer-_57-2.thumb.jpg.f50f6285071bf9fb9d2e8c7055b6e85f.jpg

Edited by NoLuckSchmuck
Title needed revision

Looks like a decent serviceable instrument. If there are no unseen flaws (it wouldn't take much to kill it) it would probably retail in the low 4 figures.