Sign in to follow this  
fiddlerjer

Tack gluing?

Pretty soon I am going to be ready to trim the edges of my top and bottom plates and mark the purfling. I want to glue the top and bottom to the rib assembly but I'm not sure what I should do to ensure the glue joint will come apart easily once I'm ready to hollow out the plates. Should the glue be thinner than usual? Do I only put glue on a small portion of the gluing surface?

Yes, the ribs are on the mold. I have not made any provision for alignment pins, I reckon I could add them. Then I could trim the edges and mark the purfling without gluing up?

My only experience is to align the plate to the ribs, clamp, drill through the plate into the top and bottom blocks. You can insert drill bits as pins and scribe the outline.

P.s. 

I'm no expert,

Pete

17 minutes ago, duane88 said:

in slc we tacked the plates on with a dot-a small dot-of white glue for doing the outline and purfling.

Thanks, that sounds workable. Was the dot on one of the blocks? Or rather I guess it would have to be two or more of the blocks. To separate the pieces when you're done, did you just pry them apart with a chisel?

8 minutes ago, fiddlerjer said:

Thanks, that sounds workable. Was the dot on one of the blocks? Or rather I guess it would have to be two or more of the blocks. To separate the pieces when you're done, did you just pry them apart with a chisel?

I'm gonna take a wild guess and say that each block had a small dot of glue. I would imagine that the plates would be released with a simple opening knife, or small hammer and a block, but Duane can correct me if I'm wrong on this.