Has anyone here had any luck purchasing from france69 on ebay? I am in the middle of a dispute with the dealer re: a couple of cellos I've purchased.

Are most e-bay cellos from France fake??

Do the "fake" instruments have any value? If I return the cellos, I will lose the cost of international shipping and thousands of dollars I've paid so far in repairs.

I am a cello instructor looking for affordable quality instruments to rent or loan out to promising students with limited financial resources.

Here's a picture of one of the cellos purchased:

Seller france69 removed original e-bay post as soon as they knew I would be filing a complaint. In order to have the J.Lavest in proper playing condition, I have had to pay for neck reset, new bridge, etc..

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Screen Shot 2019-08-08 at 9.48.18 PM.png

Edited by cellobear01

6 hours ago, cellobear01 said:

I am a cello instructor looking for affordable quality instruments to rent or loan out to promising students with limited financial resources.

Don't go anywhere near Ebay then

6 hours ago, cellobear01 said:

Has anyone here had any luck purchasing from france69 on ebay?

Ditto, avoid the seller, and ebay for that matter.

Because there deals to be had if you’re not irresponsible with your money. Buying modern instruments from authorized dealers on eBay is typically safe, as the makes/models can be pretty easily verified.  Older instruments that are not reliant on their labels to define their respective prices are okay.  Anything else should be properly verified by a professional.  For example, the OP could have simply sent a link of the cello to any one of a number of dealers for a quick opinion prior to paying.  

1 hour ago, ClefLover said:

Anything else should be properly verified by a professional.  For example, the OP could have simply sent a link of the cello to any one of a number of dealers for a quick opinion prior to paying.