Sign in to follow this  
David Hart

Odd bow screw thread

Hey fellas,

It's been a (very!) long time! Very sorry i missed the opportunity to meet my favorite violin maker in Australia last week, maybe one day I'll meet the legendary sawzall fiddler. I trust much hillarity was had over the week!

I have a french bow being restored atm and the eyelet is well and truly busted (along with the slide which was warped and had paper stuffed underneath for some reason)。

Unfortunately the thread is neither metric nor imperial, which is the only two eyelets I have. The bow itself isn't ridiculously old so I'm guessing the thread may be what I've found referred to as 'french’, but I'm wondering if anyone has an idea either where I can find this type of eyelet or an alternative solution  that doesn't involve an entirely new screw.

I'm not a bow expert but I'm thinking that just because your screw doesn't fit the one imperial and one metric eyelets that you have doesn't necessarily prove that it's not some other imperial or metric size/pitch. I'd get out my screw thread pitch gages and try to find a match, and my calipers to look for a rationale for the screw diameter. That would be a start, at least.

IMG_1109.JPG

IMG_1110.JPG

I'm keeping a heap of maybe 100 or more junk bows just for the reason that I'll need to look for different eyelets or screws.:)

In the past, threads were much less standardized than they are now.

I buy eyelets with untapped holes.  Even with my collection of about half a dozen different taps I can't always find one that matches the threads of some screws.

Some bow restorers have taps custom made for uncommon threads.