Sign in to follow this  
twcellist

How trusted is dendrology?

I'm a novice to all of this, but can dendrology be a game changer when it comes to authenticating an old instrument that is disputed? For example, there is a Rugeri where back in the 1930's it was authenticated a original Rugeri circa 1690. Then in 1990's it was authenticated as "Follower of Rugeri"and that it was circa 1760. There has been some talk the willingness for someone to put their name/reputation behind an instrument, but if a dendrology report is done then I would assume then it would give way more confidence to authenticate the instrument?

It can (contrary to the usual model) prove a negative : that an instrument was not made by the maker whose label in in it. I.e., a top made of wood dating to 1870 at the latest could not have been made by a maker who died in 1770.

It just cannot prove a positive : that an instrument with a Giovanni Pastavino label was made by him.

From what I have been told here dendro only works on tops, so if the top has been replaced then all bets are off, right? Don't know that it happens alot, but it is perhaps one more limitation. It would be nice to be able to date all parts through something like C14 testing (fyi, I really don't know anything about that either) to see if all the parts are at least x years old. 

Dendrochronology is a tool that helps experts determine age. As has already been suggested, it can show how new a piece of spruce is. Finding out that the piece is very old doesn’t necessarily mean that the age of the wood and the instrument are the same, as many makers used and still use old wood. 

The way I see it, it’s a marker for identification, much like other elements like varnish, purfling, and edge work. I wouldn’t expect to nail down an attribution with it alone, but it can help rule out some possibilities. 

12 minutes ago, Brad Dorsey said: