Sign in to follow this  
userbob

Help! I found my stolen instrument at a dealer in another state!

On a whim, I found the exact instrument (modern maker, violin number, year, all on the original label, and description of the same instrument on the website) doing a search today! I have no idea how long its been in the inventory of the shop. I can't believe my luck.

I'm a former professional. My violin was stolen from the backseat of a car literally 20 years ago. My father and mother bought it for me when I was an undergrad studying performance. They died a year before it was stolen, so having it back would just be a dream come true.

How do I go about requesting it back? I think I may have gotten a settlement for it then, but have literally no idea what insurance company it was. It was my parents' insurance company and I stopped doing business with them within the first couple of years after they died.

I am sure I can get the record from the maker to show it was purchased by my family, and/or get the original police record for the theft.

What are your suggestions? I really appreciate your advice. This is obviously not the fault of the shop that has it in their possession. They live several states away from where it was stolen.

Bob

My understanding is that if an insurance company compensated you for it, now they own it. I'm no expert though.

I think Clearsky is probably right. But maybe the insurance company will sell it back to you? Anyway sounds like you need to get the insurance information. The fact that the original maker is still around should help a lot. And hopefully the dealer will cooperate.

Let the insurance company know right away, and let their lawyers handle it. They are the ones who own it and who ultimately sustained the loss. If you want to buy it back, they will likely charge you the current fair market value.

Good luck, and please let us know what happens!

Thanks for the input everyone!