Sign in to follow this  
H.R.Fisher

F-hole ?

How should the lower f hole on a strad be situated  in relation to the edge? Should it sit parallel with the edge or should it follow the arch?   Thanks in advance   Henry

Depends. I try to make the f-hole sit flat on the arch, roughly parallel to the rib structure. With very highly arched instruments, this may not be possible.

7 hours ago, H.R.Fisher said:

How should the lower f hole on a strad be situated  in relation to the edge? Should it sit parallel with the edge or should it follow the arch?   Thanks in advance   Henry

Every  Strad I know of has had the arching "corrected"  one or more times, along the lines of what some restorer thought it should be, so we don't really know.

What do you personally find appealing?

29 minutes ago, David Burgess said:

What do you personally find appealing

As a novice I never really paid much attention to it. I assumed there would be a correct way to position them in light of all  the other important nuances in violin making.     It's good to know there is some freedom here. 

I've wondered about this as well. 
I usually drill perpendicular to the surface rather than the plate edge.  

Are we talking about how the f hole, when viewed from the side, will either be mostly parallel with the edge, or tilt slightly backwards? 

Or are we talking about the inner edge of the f hole and whether or not it's perpendicular to the arching locally or perpendicular to the ribs?

I am much confusion. ):

30 minutes ago, Nick Allen said:

Are we talking about how the f hole, when viewed from the side, will either be mostly parallel with the edge, or tilt slightly backwards? 

I just walked around the shop and picked up 20 or so violins and looked at how the f-hole appears to lay/lie from the side. I don't think that the "mostly" in your statement is defensible.