Sign in to follow this  
chanot

goldbrokat E strings types - choices

I am a retired physician; amateur maker and player with 3 violins and one viola I created primarily in 1980s and 90s..could use brighter E string on one and note that Goldbrokat E's have found favor. Were these prominent players  using Goldbrokats /Lenzner plain steel or brassed steel or the new 24 karat gold..I thought I heard that  some experts were using one that was  Tin Plated.(apparently unavailble now).are any less susceptible to whistle ?

If you want to try tin, there's a Dominant tin-plated carbon-steel E that's a wonderful string, but I wouldn't call it bright--more like halfway towards gold.

I think what you need is possibly something like a Westminster, if you want to attack this problem with strings. 

As far as I know, the Goldbrokat of old was a simple steel string, and those are still available, of course.

I grew up, thinking of Goldbrokat as dirt cheap DDR strings. When I opened my own shop in the 80’s (at a time when people still bought strings from their violin maker) I was surprised that all the Russian (and those who had studied there) customers pestered me to stock them. They seemed to me to be a fairly „low tech“ bit of steel wire, but I soon realised that they were much better than, for instance, Dominant E stings, so that my Standard „set up“ for years became Dominant G D A and a Goldbrokat E, to the Point that Thomastik started offering me Dominant as a whole set at a Discount.

Thomastik Dominant strings are the top rating & best selling

particularly suitable for old/vintage violin

Dominant strings "G,D,A" are the best for the violin except E isn't working as you need 

for "E" string you can tray one of two different brands :

1.   Goldbrokat "E"

2. jargar strings "E" medium gauge 

======================================================================

there are two interesting articles :

1.  (Personal Review of Strings) by the violinist Christian Vachon