Sign in to follow this  
mejoyh2006

DIY electric with shrill A&E strings

Greetings.

I've encountered a problem with a project, and since your forum came up in the search results (all hail the almighty Google), I was hoping you might have some suggestions for me.

I just finished a copy of the 'Mina' electric violin (Thingiverse link) and strung it with a $1.50 unbranded set off Amazon*  - while the G and D actually sound really good, similar to my old acoustic with Dominant, the A and E are hella shrill. Part of this is probably the string quality and over-bowing since I'm still getting used to playing with an amp, but I can't help wondering if some more bridge shaping would warm it up. Luthier is not an option since I'm a broke engineering student. Help?

---

* Already aware the strings are a problem, but I didn't want to drop $$$$$$ on good ones when I wasn't certain it would survive assembly. PLA filament has a low tensile strength and doesn't flex easily, and I wasn't sure how much pressure the carbon fiber rod could mitigate.

My experience is with cellos, but when I had shrill ones some tricks I have used are: leave bridge thick, so I think Duane88's idea of acoustic putty would be similar. I have also added mass to tailpieces or used heavier ones rather than aluminum or carbon fiber. Putting o-rings under the strings at the bridge helps dampen them a little. With fractional instruments I found going up to the next size up (eg. put 3/4 on 1/2 size instrument) helps, I think the bigger strings come up to pitch with less tension IIRC.

Oh dear.   Well.  IMHO, your first mistake was in not plagiarizing one of these:

https://www.electricviolinshop.com/barcus-berry-vibrato-ac-el-violin-passion-pink.html

https://www.electricviolinshop.com/glasser-aex-carbon-composite-acoustic-electric-violin-black.html

https://www.electricviolinshop.com/bridge-golden-tasman-electro-acoustic-violin.html